So, there are 15 days left until school is done, and 16 until my family arrives. I have been busier then ever: making travel  plans and bookings, doing school work and report cards, and trying to fill every minute doing something new and fun in my little time left in China.
Here are some of the things that have been happening lately:

Thunderstorms, Rain, and BLUE SKIES!!!

All of the thunderstorms and rain we have been having at night has washed away all the pollution so we don't have to look at it and instead we get to see gorgeous, blue skies. This makes me happy :)

Markets!

Everything here is organized into markets. If you want shoes you go to the shoe market, for tea you go to the tea market, for pets you go to the pet market, etc. A couple weeks ago I went to the art market and bought a Chinese painting and this weekend I went to the pearl market to buy some pearls.

Backstreet Boys!

YES, I went to a BSB concert, in China! 

Dragon Boat Festival

Chelsey and I went into Guangzhou on our day off for Dragon Boat Festival and ended up spotting some dragon boats from our bus, so we hopped off and went and checked it out! After school on Tuesday our sweet cleaner at the school gave us some Zongzi (Chinese sticky rice dumpling) to try; her daughter made them.

Randoms.

Guangzhou traffic!
My morning commute!
Not sure what's going on here...

I Almost forgot... I got a job!!!

I had a job interview last Tuesday at 11pm my time and got a phone call offering me the job at 6am on Thursday! I will be moving to Drumheller, Alberta to teach grade 5 at Greentree School. I am getting really excited!
Here's me with my dress clothes back on, trying to wake up for the interview :) My bare feet really complete the look!
So that's what's been happening over the last few weeks!

I think I am almost ready, planning wise, for our trip to Beijing, Xian and Chengdu! I booked a tour on the Great Wall with a local guide for us where we do a farm stay, watch a sunset on the wall and hike on a part of the wall that is original and not as crowded, I am so excited! I am also looking forward to visiting the panda preserve in Chengdu!
I will make sure to take lots of picks and update the blog once we get back.
Lana Brown
6/12/2013 06:58:39 am

What a wonderful adventure you've had Karli! And congratulations on your new job! So proud of you!

Reply
Anne Stevick
6/13/2013 06:19:03 am

Great photos and story Karli! Have a great time on your tour when your family gets there. Congratulations on the job, now we will have to come to Drumheller more often.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a recent graduate with an Education degree, a love for photography, and the desire to travel. I am attempting to navigate life, learn as much as possible and grow personally and professionally. 

    Archives

    June 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All