I have  been thinking lately about what I have learned during my time here. The largest lessons have been about differences.

All my life I have fit in quite well. I am an english speaking white person from Southern Alberta, my parents and grandparents grew up here. I blend in, and I like it!

In China I am a blue eyed alien with blond hair and white skin, blending in isn't even an option. I feel the stares from everyone, some are friendly and some are not. I have had quite a few instances where people take pictures of me and my friend or even ask to take pictures with us. I usually go along with it if they ask, or wave at them and smile if they don't. A lot of the staring and picture taking is out of genuine  curiosity I believe, and so I try not to worry about it too much. It is what it is. But I now have great empathy for those who go through the same thing on a daily basis at home.

The second thing I have really been surprised by is the psychological need for things like import grocery stores, Canadian restaurants with an atmosphere that feels like home, and a group of friends that are 'like' me. And yes, I mean people that look like me, and share similar experiences and interests with me. I never fully understood why it was so important for different ethnic groups to have import stores and things like China Town, and local food restaurants. I was completely ignorant to their cultural needs!

So often I hear people say that foreigners are in 'our' country and should speak english and follow 'our' cultural values and ways. Well I can't speak for anyone else, but it will never matter where I live, I will always be proudly Canadian and further more Southern Albertan. I grew up riding horses, eating beef, getting together with community, speaking english, and that is a HUGE part of my identity. That part of who I am cannot be taken away. It can't be taken away by the country that I live in or the people that surround me, it is inside of me.

I believe that my friends and family would feel the same, they don't want me to change the core of who I am based on where I live. They still want me to be me. So I think it isn't fair to ask that of anyone else, instead let's learn from each other and about one another's culture, and invite everybody that is willing to participate in to be a part of ours.
Donna Alm
3/14/2013 02:05:17 pm

I guess we should get out more shouldn't we Kar. Walk a few miles in someone else's moccasins. Thanks for being so brave as to not only experience it, but share it with all of us! Love You, Mom

Reply
Auntie Anne
3/14/2013 02:47:01 pm

Well said Karli!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a recent graduate with an Education degree, a love for photography, and the desire to travel. I am attempting to navigate life, learn as much as possible and grow personally and professionally. 

    Archives

    June 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All